Tape Waves

4 Oct

Tape Waves are a two-piece, dream-pop band out of South Carolina. Their addictive brand of warm, hazy, pop songs are perfect to lift your spirits on these cold, rainy, gray (at least where I live) days of fall.

Their solid new LP, Here To Fade, is out now through Bleeding Gold Records. For a taste give “So Fast” (below) a spin. Enjoy.

Tape Waves – So Fast from Here To Fade (2016)

Tape Waves FB

Springtime Carnivore

22 Sep

Greta Morgan’s smokey, powerful voice is as cool as ever as it shines over the top of the lush, psych-pop grooves on her newest Springtime Carnivore LP, Midnight Room. The exuberant single, ‘Raised By Wolves” (below) is an addictive taste of how cool Midnight Room is. Definitely no sophomore slump here.

Midnight Room drops October 7 via Autumn Tone Records. It belongs on everyone’s must own list. Enjoy.

Springtime Carnivore – Raised By Wolves from Midnight Room (2016)

September 2016

13 Sep

September 2016 from 3hive on 8tracks Radio.

15 tracks of anti-fall/winter goodness. Enjoy.

1. Four Tet – And Then Patterns
2. Odd Nosdam – Ethereal Slap
3. Monster Rally – Pelicans
4. Dr. Octagon – 3000
5. Cornelius – Drop
6. Katy Goodman & Greta Morgan – Pay To Cum (Bad Brains Cover)
7. Redspencer – Fuss
8. Lake Kwan Do – Horn (Maybe)
9. The Hot Puppies – The Word On The Street
10. birdbird – Pet Boyfriend
11. The Persian Leaps – See Me Unaware
12. Good Boy – Poverty Line
13. Hot Vodka – Prisoner of Paradise
14. Bishops – Hookup
15. Swamps – Hate Hate Hate

Teenage Fanclub

6 Sep

Scotland’s Teenage Fanclub shouldn’t need any introduction, they’ve been putting out the power-pop hits since 1990′s A Catholic Education. Fast forward twenty-six years later (6 years since their last release) and they are still kicking out the jams and sounding as fresh as ever on their new LP Here.

Give album opener, “I’m In Love” (below) a spin, it’s a warm, shimmery, power-pop gem perfect for extending the summer vibes into September.

Here is out on September 9 via Merge Records. It’s a good one. Enjoy.

Teenage Fanclub – I’m In Love from Here (2016)


26 Aug

New York trio, birdbird, blasts some heavy, noisy, ear drum melting, lo-fi, punk rock on “Corporation Setup” (below) from their debut EP, Corporation Setup. They describe their sound “…sounds exactly like a fire at your niece’s birthday party.” Pretty spot on. You need to give this a spin.

Corporation Setup is available now from birdbird’s Bandcamp page. Enjoy.

birdbird – Corporation Setup from Corporation Setup (2016)

birdbird FB


23 Aug

It’s a bit early to name Conveyor’s new release, Ready Not Ready, album of the year for 2016, but it’s jangly guitars, over groove-driven bass lines, mixed with some well-placed horns and strings, all wrapped up nicely with some tight as hell drum kit work, has set the bar possibly too high to surpass. Give one of the many standout tracks, “Caul”, a spin below. It’s a great sample of the album’s geniusness.

Ready Not Ready is available now on vinyl from Gold Robot Records and digitally from Conveyor’s Bandcamp page. Enjoy.

The Evening Attraction

18 Aug

Chicago rock ‘n’ rollers, The Evening Attraction recently released their newest 7-inch single, The Evening Attraction Presents: Tea Party, on Classic Waxxx Records. The A-side, “The Kids Don’t Care (For Rock ‘n’ Roll)”(streaming below) is a stomping, garage-pop romp that’s sure to shake even the gloomiest person out of their funk.

The Evening Attraction Presents: Tea Party is available digitally from The Evening Attraction’s Bandcamp page and also available on vinyl from Classic Waxxx – I highly recommend picking up a vinyl copy before they are gone.


16 Aug

Brooklyn garage rock trio, Sharkmuffin, punch you straight in the mouth from the needle drop and don’t let up on their excellent debut LP Chartreuse. Sharkmuffin is made up of Tarra Thiessen (vocals/guitar), Natalie Kirch (vocals/bass) and Janet LaBelle (vocals/drums), however Patty Schemel (of Hole fame) played drums on the album while LaBelle was recovering from an injury.

Give the pummeling title-track, “Chartreuse”, a spin (below), it’s a great sample of what do expect from the rest of the LP. Chartreuse is out now on cassette and vinyl from Little Dickman Records and State Capitol Records. Enjoy.

Sharkmuffin – Chartreuse from Chartreuse (2015)

Sharkmuffin FB

August 2016

15 Aug

August 2016 from 3hive on 8tracks Radio.

18 top of the charts tracks perfect to end your summer with. Enjoy.

1. DJ Spooky – Polyphony of One
2. Descendents – Victim of Me
3. B-52′s – Dance This Mess Around
4. Honeycomb Bones – Jackdaw
5. Maidavale – (If You Want Smoke) Be The Fire
6. Digable Planets – What Cool Breezes Do
7. RUMTUM – Spirits Remain
8. Blade of Grass – Light In My Eyes
9. ORB – First And Last Men
10. Joanna Gruesome – Occult Bookshop
11. Mateo Katsu – Hey There Elevator
12. The Reverberations – I Want Yer Love
13. Fiancé – H.A.G.S.
14. Bodies Be Rivers – Making Plans
15. Monster Rally – Color Wheel
16. VTCN RADIO – Venus Flytrap
17. Xiomara – YDKJ Pt. II (Amerigo Gazaway Mix)
18. A Tribe Called Quest – Excursions


12 Aug

Atlanta powerhouse trio, Omni, throw it down on their hook-filled, power-pop release Deluxe. The chugging bass, angular guitar and frantic backbeat of opener “Afterlife” (below) not only make it one of the best songs on the album, but one of my favorite songs so far this year.

Deluxe is out now through Trouble In Mind Records. It’s one of my favorite records so far this year and a great one to crank up and pogo around the house to. Enjoy

Omni – Afterlife from Deluxe (2016)