4 Feb

Listening to West Virginia’s Goodwolf is like getting off a time machine in the late 90′s/early 00′s. Their fresh take on twangy – Lemonheads meets a peppier Cub Country with a dash of The Promise Ring – indie rock is a sweet, sweet nostalgic ride.

Goodwolf released their latest LP, Car In The Woods, back in October with Twin Cousins Records. It’s a solid release and definitely worth your time. Check out “Rechico” below for a taste.

Keep your eyes on their Facebook page for upcoming tour info. Hopefully they are coming to a town near you. If you are in the Chicago area you can check out Goodwolf during Twin Cousins showcase at the CIMM Festival in April.

Goodwolf – Rechico from Car In The Woods (2014)

February 15 Mixtape

2 Feb

This month’s mixtape has 11 songs that are sure to get you through the blah’s of February.

1. Albino Father – The Milk Comes In [self]
2. Darker My Love – Backseat [dangerbird]
3. Gorillaz – Kids With Guns [warner]
4. Paces Lift & Ben Bounce – Feline [wax thématique]
5. Forest World – Love More [self]
6. Leggy – Sweet Teeth [self]
7. Girls on the Beach – Highlife [self]
8. The Stents – Meet Mike Hate [hidden volume]
9. The Busy Signals – Stereo [dirtnap]
10. Springtime Carnivore – Collectors [autumn tone]
11. Gold Panda – Same Dream China [ghostly]

February 2015 from 3hive on 8tracks Radio.

La Cerca

30 Jan

Tucson’s La Cerca have been around as far as I can tell since at least 2002, but they are brand new to me. I stumbled across their new album, Sunrise for Everyone, one afternoon while searching the nets for new music. Their dusty, hook-filled brand of indie rock immediately captivated me.

Sunrise for Everyone took the better part of three years to record, and it shows as it’s songs are full of masterfully crafted layers of indie rock gold. Check out the standout, slow builder  ”Weather Festival” below for a taste.

Sunrise for Everyone is available now from Fort Lowell Records. I highly recommend it.

La Cerca – Weather Festival from Sunrise for Everyone (2014)

La Cerca


26 Jan

Let’s keep this pop theme going…

Twerps formed in Melbourne back in 2008. In their 7+ years as a band they have released one full length and several EPs of shimmery, sickly sweet pop music – including last years Underlay, their debut EP with Merge Records. Tomorrow (Jan 27) they will drop their newest long player, Range Anxiety, again with Merge.

Range Anxiety is indie pop gold with it’s glimmering guitars and killer vocal harmonies. Get a taste of their sweetness below with downloads of “I Don’t Mind” and “Shoulders” as well as the video for “Back To You”. Enjoy.

Twerps – I Don’t Mind from Range Anxiety (2015)

Twerps – Shoulders from Range Anxiety (2015)

Twerps – Back to You (Official Music Video) from Merge Records on Vimeo.

Diet Cig

23 Jan

In sticking with the power pop theme, here is New York duo Diet Cig. Their sugary brand of pop punk is quite tasty and is sure to rot your ears. Check out “Scene Sick” below for a sample.

Diet Cig’s debut EP, Over Easy, will be available digitally and on cassette February 24 through Father/Daughter Records. You can (and you should) preorder it now.

Diet Cig – Scene Sick from Over Easy (2015)

The Insomniacs

21 Jan

New Jersey trio The Insomniacs’ new 7″ single, Today’s The Way, is a head bobbing, toe tapping, power pop gem. My favorite of the two tracks is the B-side “Mr. Yesterday”, it’s snotty as hell and I can’t get enough of it. Both songs are available to stream below.

You can get the vinyl (recommended)/stream/download from the Hidden Volume Bandcamp page. Enjoy.

The Insomniacs

Viet Cong

14 Jan

My first introduction to Calgary’s Viet Cong came by way of their Mexican Summer release, Cassette, that was released last year. Their brand of cold, hazy post-rock was intoxicating. Viet Cong is just as icy as it’s predecessor and pummels you into a stupor with relentless, pounding drums. Check out “Continental Shelf” below to see what I mean.

Viet Cong is made up of former members of Women and Chad VanGaalen’s band. Their new self-titled album with Jajaguwar will be released on January 20. You need to get your hands on a copy.

Viet Cong – Continental Shelf from Viet Cong (2015)

Straight Arrows

12 Jan

Sydney, Australia’s Straight Arrows punch you right in the face with their fuzzy, reverbed, garage punk sound on their newest Hozac Records release, Rising. Have a listen to the burner “Make Up Your Mind” below.

Rising is out now and available from Hozac Records. It’s a solid release and I highly recommend it. Enjoy.

Straight Arrows – Make Up Your Mind from Rising (2014)

Straight Arrows

Best of 2014 (Todd’s List)

9 Jan

Better late than never, right? Below are my top 20 favorite albums of 2014.

20. Say Hi – Endless Wonder [Barsuk]
19. Volage – Heart Healing [Howlin' Banana]
18. TV Girl – French Exit [Self Released]
17. Lubec – THE THRALL [Like Young]
16. Gold-Bears – Dalliance [Slumberland]
15. The Fresh & Onlys – House of Spirits [Mexican Summer]
14. Spoon – They Want My Soul [Loma Vista]
13. The Men – Tomorrow’s Hits [Sacred Bones]
12. Mac DeMarco – Salad Days [Captured Tracks]
11. Madlib – Piñata Beats [Madlib Invazion]

10. King Gizzard & The Lizard Wizard – I’m In Your Mind Fuzz [Castle Face]
9. Cloud Nothings – Here And Nowhere Else [Carpark]
8. Springtime Carnivore – S/T [Autumn Tone]
7. Ultimate Painting – S/T [Trouble In Mind]
6. Literature – Chorus [Slumberland]
5. Woods – With Light And Love [Woodsist]
4. Thee Oh Sees – Drop [Castle Face]
3. Protomartyr – Under Color of Official Right [Hardly Art]
2. Ty Segall – Manipulator [Drag City]
1. Paces Lift & Ben Bounce – Quick Trigger [Wax Thématique]

Best of 2014 from 3hive on 8tracks Radio.


6 Jan

If you like your rock and roll full of loud guitars and crashing drums, then West Virginia three-piece Bishops is the band for you. Check out “Morning Light” (below) for a sample of their goodness.

Bishops’ 2014 release, Silver Lining, is available on cassette from Funny / Not Funny Records or digital/vinyl from Twin Cousins Records.

Apologies to Harper for taking so long to post this.

Bishops – Morning Light from Silver Lining (2014)